Skip to content

About

Product design is a holistic process. As a creative service, the development not only includes pure design, but also takes into account the conditions of production as well as the experience of the end user.

Everyday objects shape people’s relationship to their environment. They are an expression of our culture of life. The choice of which products we surround ourselves with defines the way we live every day.

The curated product selection is continuously expanded. Design Everyday shows the innovation potential of the Austrian design scene and makes it visible that design criteria such as function, aesthetics, haptics and sustainability are constantly being rethought and optimised at the cutting edge.

Design Everyday wants to support manufacturers in fully exploiting the potential of their products and bringing sustainable products to the market. Upon request, we are happy to provide an overview of the design scene or establish contacts with specific design offices, depending on the task at hand.

Idea & Concept

The everyday is often overlooked. However, in order to give everyday objects the importance they actually have in everyday life, the initiative Design Everyday focuses on precisely those products that most influence our way of life. The focus is on the multidisciplinary context in product design — from the idea to production and distribution to use by the end consumer.

Partner

Design Everyday was presented by Georg Schnitzer and Peter Umgeher (Vandasye) for the first time in 2017 as an exhibition during the Vienna Design Week and will take place for the fifth time in 2021. In order to make the selection of selected products and the designers behind them visible, the 2021 initiative was expanded to include a web platform (website, online platform). The aim of the evolutive catalogue is to network as many actors as possible from this environment.

Vienna Design Week
As the largest Austrian design festival, the Vienna Design Week is an ideal platform for the presentation of theme-specific design contributions for ten days a year. The organisers activate unusual locations in the city and mobilise a diverse network of specialists from different disciplines. In this context, Design Everyday sees itself as a low-threshold interface for designers, manufacturers and a broad public.

Vienna Business Agency
With the Vienna Business Agency, designers have a competent contact for funding of all kinds. Thanks to their support, Design Everyday is able to present the annual selective appearances as a continuous platform and to initiate new collaborations.

Press

For questions and additional pictures please contact us.

Downloads
Design Everyday Folder 2017
Design Everyday Folder 2018
Design Everyday Folder 2019

Contact
info@​design-​everyday.​org

Skip to content

About

Produktdesign ist ein ganzheitlicher Prozess. Als kreative Dienstleistung umfasst die Entwicklung nicht nur reine Formgebung, sondern berücksichtigt die Bedingungen der Herstellung ebenso wie das Erlebnis durch die Endverbraucher*innen.

Alltagsgegenstände prägen das Verhältnis der Menschen zu ihrer Umwelt. Sie sind Ausdruck unserer Lebenskultur. Die Entscheidung, mit welchen Produkten wir uns umgeben, definiert die Art und Weise, wie wir tagtäglich leben.

Die kuratierte Produktauswahl wird kontinuierlich erweitert. Design Everyday zeigt das Innovationspotential der österreichischen Designszene und macht sichtbar, dass Gestaltungskriterien wie Funktion, Ästhetik, Haptik und Nachhaltigkeit laufend auf der Höhe der Zeit überdacht und optimiert werden.

Design Everyday möchte Hersteller dabei unterstützen, das Potential ihrer Produkte voll auszuschöpfen und zukunftsfähige Produkte auf den Markt zu bringen. Auf Anfrage sind wir gerne bereit, je nach Aufgabenstellung, einen Überblick über die Designszene zu vermitteln oder Kontakte zu spezifischen Designbüros herzustellen.

Idee & Konzept

Das Alltägliche wird oft übersehen. Um aber Gebrauchsgegenständen jenen Stellenwert einzuräumen, den sie im Alltag tatsächlich einnehmen, rückt die Initiative Design Everyday genau jene Produkte in den Mittelpunkt, die unsere Lebensweise am meisten prägen. Im Fokus der Betrachtung steht der multidisziplinäre Zusammenhang im Produktdesign – von der Idee über die Herstellung und den Vertrieb bis zur Benutzung durch die Endverbraucher*innen.

Partner

Design Everyday wurde von Georg Schnitzer und Peter Umgeher (Vandasye) 2017 zum ersten Mal als Ausstellung im Rahmen der Vienna Design Week präsentiert und findet 2021 zum fünften Mal statt. Um die Auswahl ausgesuchter Produkte sowie die dahinterstehenden Designer*innen sichtbar zu machen, wurde die Initiative 2021 um eine Web-Plattform (Website, Online-Plattform) erweitert. Ziel des evolutiven Katalogs ist die Vernetzung möglichst vieler Akteur*innen aus diesem Umfeld.

Vienna Design Week
Als größtes österreichisches Designfestival ist die Vienna Design Week zehn Tage im Jahr eine ideale Plattform für die Präsentation themenspezifischer Designbeiträge. Die Veranstalter aktivieren ungewöhnliche Locations im Stadtraum und mobilisieren ein vielfältiges Netzwerk an Spezialist*innen aus unterschiedlichen Disziplinen. In diesem Kontext versteht sich Design Everyday als niederschwellige Schnittstelle für Designer*innen, Hersteller und einem breiten Publikum.

Wirtschaftsagenturagentur Wien
Mit der Wirtschaftsagentur Wien haben Designschaffende einen kompetenten Ansprechpartner für Förderungen unterschiedlichster Art. Dank deren Unterstützung ist es Design Everyday möglich, die jährlichen punktuellen Auftritte als kontinuierliche Plattform darzustellen und neue Kollaborationen zu initiieren.

Presse

Für Fragen und zustätzliches Bildmaterial kontaktieren sie uns bitte.

Downloads
Design Everyday Folder 2017
Design Everyday Folder 2018
Design Everyday Folder 2019

Kontakt
info@​design-​everyday.​org